Home > Main > Clock of the Long Now

Clock of the Long Now

July 14, 2011

Jeff Bezos is funding the Clock of the Long Now.  The clock is designed to keep mostly accurate time over extremely long periods, over periods longer than our civilization has been around.

I’ve been following the Clock and the Long Now foundation for over 10 years.  I saw Danny Hillis, Stewart Brand, and Brian Eno talk on the Clock 11 years ago in London.  You’ve probably seen and wondered about the long now link over on the blog roll.  Well, now you know!

It’s one of the more remarkable aspirations I’ve seen humans attempt.  The goals is to impact the mental space of people – to get them to think about the world over far longer time frames.  But it is also one of the few ways our civilization will have created something that will last as long as the pyramids or Stonehenge.  Someone 3,000 years from now will be doing archeology research on it.  It’s also cool technology.

I hope that Bezos also funds the rosetta disks. These are small disks that contain a passage in many modern languages.  They are cheap and near indestructible, and designed to be thrown away and placed in garbage heaps or out in the desert or just about anywhere.

Categories: Main Tags: ,
  1. beowulf
    July 14, 2011 at 2:08 pm

    Geez TC, its like we got the same memo. I followed a link from a Michael Lind story at Salon last night to this guidebook to the 1938 World’s Fair time capsule.
    http://www.salon.com/news/politics/war_room/2011/05/10/lind_new_bible
    http://www.archive.org/stream/timecapsulecups00westrich#page/n7/mode/2up

  2. July 16, 2011 at 7:38 am

    Beowulf, I don’t know how open you are to the idea but after reading a lot of your comments around MMT blogs, I’ve decided that you should blog.

  3. beowulf
    July 16, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    Yes and my gf is always telling me I should get a facebook account. That will all happen the day after I buy a TV. But thank you for the kind words.

    I’m not a Luddite, I just watch shows on thefreenetwork.com :o)

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
