Home > Main > Nick Rowe begins the walk to MMT

Nick Rowe begins the walk to MMT

April 25, 2011

Nick Rowe is a smart guy – I knew he would come around.   He gets about 60% of the way there with this post.  He gets it about the limits of spending money – there are no limits but inflation.

He still makes a fundamental error.  He needs to update his ideas about government debt.  Nick – take a look why QE is like issuing treasury bills from Randal Wray or the original from Warren Mosler.

Categories: Main
  1. Clonal Antibody
    April 27, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    Brad DeLong’s mea culpa

    I must say that I, back in 2007, would not have believed that the world would turn out to be as fundamentalist-Keynesian as it has turned out to be. I would have said that there are full-employment equilibrium-restoring forces in the labor market which we will see operating in a year or two to push the employment-to-population ratio back up. I would have said that the long-run funding dilemmas of the social insurance states would greatly restrict the amount of expansionary fiscal policy that could be run before crowding-out became a real issue.

    I would have been wrong.

    • TC
      April 27, 2011 at 4:12 pm

      I know, Delong is smart. He is able to change his mind. He is a former Summers/Rubin guy too. Rubin sounds especially impressive to me in his personal interactions, even if his ideas were wrong headed.

      I cannot blame these guys any more than I blame Thomas Jefferson for owning slaves. But that doesn’t make me fight them any less hard, just as it wouldn’t have made me join the Union any less quickly.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
